The Church Year consists of two cycles of feasts and holy days: one is dependent upon the movable date of the Sunday
of the Resurrection or Easter Day; the other, upon the fixed date of December 25, the Feast of our Lord’s Nativity or
Christmas Day. Easter Day is always the first Sunday after the full moon that falls on or after March 21. It cannot occur
before March 22 or after April 25.

The sequence of all Sundays of the Church Year depends upon the date of Easter Day. But the Sundays of Advent are
always the four Sundays before Christmas Day, whether it occurs on a Sunday or a weekday. The date of Easter also
determines the beginning of Lent on Ash Wednesday, and the feast of the Ascension on a Thursday forty days after
Easter Day.

Please note the references to 'BCP' is an acronym for 'Book of Common Prayer'.  There is an web version or 'online'
BCP linked on the
Episcopal Religion Page.

Advent is the season before Christmas. Advent begins the Liturgical Year, and it is always the four Sundays before
Christmas day.  It is a penitential time and purple is the liturgical color for the season.  

The Sundays and weekdays between Epiphany and Ash Wednesday (the first day of Lent) are known as Epiphany

Lent is the season that the church observes before Easter. Lent begins on Ash Wednesday (February 10, 2016). Lent is
traditionally 40 days (there are a few ways to count those 40 days – try it!). It is a time of preparation for Baptism, and
because of that it has traditionally been a time for penitence, prayer, fasting, and spiritual renewal.

During Lent, purple vestments are worn, the word “alleluia” is not used during worship services and the Rite II Eucharist
will be replaced by the Great Litany for most of the services.

The week before Easter Sunday is called Holy Week. It begins with Palm/Passion Sunday, and includes the great
Easter Triduum (Three Days): Maundy Thursday, Good Friday, and Easter Vigil (March 27, 2016 before sunrise). Over
this week, the church observes its most ancient rites of worship.

Easter Services at Saint Timothy's will begin at 10:00am and follow with an Easter brunch.

Pentecost is the great festival that marks the birth of the Christian church by the power of the Holy Spirit. Pentecost
means “fiftieth day” and is celebrated fifty days after Easter Sunday. The Day of Pentecost is one of the seven principal
feasts of the church year in the Episcopal Church (BCP, p. 15), and is identified by the BCP as one of the feasts that is
“especially appropriate” for baptism (p. 312).

Pentecost & all Sundays after Pentecost
Sunday Morning Worship
9:00 AM Adult Sunday School
10:00 AM Holy Eucharist
Saint Timothy's Episcopal Church
2152 Hawthorne Street; Kingsport, TN 37664  
Saint Timothy's.